Information and Assessment Data

Ephrata Area School District Information and Data

Ephrata Area School District Facts –The Ephrata Area School District is a suburban/rural community located in northern Lancaster County approximately 40 miles east of Harrisburg and 15 miles north of Lancaster. The District stretches over 43 square miles and includes the boroughs of Akron and Ephrata and the townships of Clay and Ephrata.

Ephrata Area School District is organized into four levels: Elementary (Kindergarten through Grade 4), Intermediate (Grades 5-6), Middle (Grades 7-8), and High (Grades 9-12). Approximately 4,170 students are enrolled in the seven District schools:

• Akron Elementary School
• Clay Elementary School
• Fulton Elementary School
• Highland Elementary School
• Ephrata Intermediate School
• Ephrata Middle School
• Ephrata High School

District students typically score above state and national averages on academic assessments, including PSSA, SAT, and AP. To further support academics, students have many opportunities to participate in musical performances, athletic events, dramatic productions, and art shows.

The Ephrata High School graduation rate averages above 89 percent and approximately 70 percent of each graduating class pursue a four-year or two-year college degree.

The Ephrata Area School District is also one of the area’s largest employers with approximately 510 staff members, including administrators, teachers, and support staff.